The Civic Museum of the silk ABEGG is located in a spinning mill of the 18th century in Garlate, in a Mulberries’ garden near the Lake Como.

It was built in 1953 and it presents discoverings, inventions and machines used for the production of the silk from the silkworm to the tissue and it keeps a big collection of machines, to make visitors see the main steps of the production. The tour also includes a specific stage about weaving and another one which presents the news about cosmetic and biomedical researches.

The Museum also organizes practical activities, educational paths and it’s home to scientifics researches and promotion. In this regard, rooms are opened for reunions, meetings, concerts, shows, conferences, exhibitions and public or private events.

Upon reservation, the Museum offers guided tours with experts who tell the story collection “Voices from the spinning mill” explaining machines and silk’s utilization today and in the future.

Tours are also available in english or spanish.

SCHEDULE AND TARIFFS

It is necessary to book: prenotazione@museosetagarlate.it or +39 3319960890

Discover the Civic Museum setificio Monti

Photos by: museosetagarlate and lombardiabeniculturali

 

Santa Maria Rezzonico is a small medieval village near Menaggio, facing Bellagio and Varenna: it’s a fascinating location worth taking a walk for. Visitors can make a tour crossing many narrow streets and porches, until the Rezzonico’s Castle.

Rezzonico Castle, which overlooks the Lake Como, was built in the 14th century by Della Torre Counts and it is an enlosure castle, as it occupies an area of 2000 square meters and inside it had houses and the main tower.
They say that this castle has been built on the site of an earlier fortification, of which nowadays only the two entrance doors are visible.

Currently the Castle is private property so the insides aren’t opened to the public. It’s used for weddings of private events.

Photos by Sonia Poncia, Patrizia Aliprandi, Mauro Moro, Lakecomotourism, e-borghi.

The International Museum of Vintage Boats in Pianello del Lario, Como Province, keeps a collection of 400 historic hull between boats, oars, gondolas, fishing boat, hunting and smuggling, speedboats, ferries, catamarans, sailboats and 300 engines. It opened its doors to the public after a long time of 18 years, in summer 2018.

Founded by GianAlberto Zanoletti, the Museum tells the story of the Italian Marine, with the big library which keeps 2.550 books and historic journals.

The tour gives a unique experience which aims to keep memories alive and involve future generations.

The Museum offers fun activities for schools and historic narrations.

SCHEDULE

From Monday to Thursday: upon request

From Friday to Sunday: 14 .00  pm – 18.00 pm

TARIFFS

Adults € 6,00

From 6 to 14years, over 65: € 4,00

Free enter for under 6, people with disabilities, reporters, Pianello del Lario’s residents.

Groups € 4,00 (at least 15 persons)

 

 

The St. Agata Church in Tremenico has a history closely linked with the history of the small village of Valvarrone. Its origins are really ancient, as there are traces of its history in the parchment code “Liber Notitiae Sanctorum Mediolani” preserved in the Library of Duomo of Milan.

Over the years, many renovation and expansion works, strongly supported by the population of Tremenico, very devoted to the Holy Agata, have been made. In particular, said works have been supported also by citizens of Tremenico expatriated abroad for work (for instance: the altar comes from Venice).

The organ and the choir arrived in Tremenico in 1853 from Brianza, thanks to the generosity and the work of inhabitants.

Rassegna Organistica Valsassinese organizes several beautiful concerts and events into St. Agata Church, where you can find also many artworks.

The patron saint of Sant’Agata is celebrated with a traditional procession on February 5, involving civil and religious authorities and the people of Valvarrone, culminating with a solemn moment in the Church in Tremenico.

Visit also the historic village of Tremenico and the beautiful hamlet of Avano

Photo of the village by Paola Massari

The St. Agata Church in Tremenico has a history closely linked with the history of the small village of Valvarrone. Its origins are really ancient, as there are traces of its history in the parchment code “Liber Notitiae Sanctorum Mediolani” preserved in the Library of Duomo of Milan.

Over the years, many renovation and expansion works, strongly supported by the population of Tremenico, very devoted to the Holy Agata, have been made. In particular, said works have been supported also by citizens of Tremenico expatriated abroad for work (for instance: the altar comes from Venice).

The organ and the choir arrived in Tremenico in 1853 from Brianza, thanks to the generosity and the work of inhabitants.

Rassegna Organistica Valsassinese organizes several beautiful concerts and events into St. Agata Church, where you can find also many artworks.

The patron saint of Sant’Agata is celebrated with a traditional procession on February 5, involving civil and religious authorities and the people of Valvarrone, culminating with a solemn moment in the Church in Tremenico.

Visit also the historic village of Tremenico and the beautiful hamlet of Avano

Photo of the village by Paola Massari

The Sanctuary of the Blessed Virgin of Bondo or Sanctuary of the Lady of Pity , about 700 meters on hight , it’s in the locality of Bondo in Vestreno , in Valvarrone.

It is situated in a isolated area into a wood , near the Wanderer’s Trail : thanks to that peculiarity it offers a beathtaking panoramic view on Lake Como and its mountains. The location’s choice wasn’t accidental : in fact , the Blessed Virgin was in charge of protecting the residents , because they used to go to the mountains where they often met bandits and wild animals.

The building is a typical exemple of mountain sanctuary of Baroque age , even though the measures done in the beginning of the 1900 are noticeable. The current construction come from 1677 , even if during the centuries the church was equipped with others interior fixtures and fittings : the altar , the cantine and the board , made with Varenna black marble , are datated 1700 more or less , like the porch and the façade ; while the tower bell was built at the beginning of 1800.

Photos by Paola Massari

Villa Carlotta, overlooking the lake Como, in the village of Tremezzo, is a fascinating location where the beauties of nature and human intelligence’s masterpieces live since a lot of ages.

Bulit at the end of the 17th century by Clerici Marquises from Milan, this Villa opens the doors of its beautiful botanical garden to millions of visitors from all over the world. In the garden visitors can enjoy a unique experience between colors and scents, it keeps hydrangeas, roses, azaleas, camelias rhododendron and suggestive areas as the Citrus’ Tunnel and the Romantic Garden, but also fountains, water games and sculptures.

The ticket for the Botanical garden allows visitor sto make a tour in the Museum, which is in the Villa: there are important art objects as the amazing painting which represents the last kiss between Romeo and Juliet, made by Francesco Hayez. On the first floor there are different rooms as the Marble Room, the Chalk Room and the Napoleonic Room. On the second floor visitors can see the forniture, the private rooms and Princess Carlotta’s objects; she got this Villa in the middle of  19th century for the occasion of the marriage with George II. Villa Carlotta keeps an historical archive and the Belloni zecchinelli’s archive.

 SCHEDULE

TARIFFS

Photos by Aldo taborelli, A. Locatelli, Mary Zucchi, villacarlotta.it

 

 

Villa Serbelloni’s park, which in the past was known as Bellagio’s Castle, is located on bellagio’s promontory in a landscaped location,which divides the two branches of Lake Como. A paceful walk between the nineteenth-century’s gardens makes the tour a great experience for visitors who can enjoy the breathtaking ladscape on the lake.

On this promontory, Pliny the Younger wanted to built a villa named “Tragoedia” in the 63 A.D.; than in the Middle Ages a Longobard fortress took that place, the ownership passed from the Stanga to the Sfondratis, who built the current villa, which was traded to Alessandro Serbelloni.

Alessandro Serbelloni  at the end of 18th century took the decision to set up the beautiful italian gardens , with sculptures, caves, archaeological curiosities and esotic fauna.

Rockefeller Foundation is the current owner of the park and organizes guided tour in collaboration with the City of Bellagio. Today the Villa is used for conferences and activities. Only the gardens are opened to the public.

Villa Serbelloni Gardens are open from Saturday 31st March 2023 just with guided tours (no free access).

The visits are organized:

-Every day except Monday at 11am and 3.30pm

-The visit takes about 1.30/2 hours

-Max people per visit: 30

-Languages: Italian and english always available

-Meeting point: infpoint on the groud floor of the medieval tower

-Reservation online: https://www.bellagiolakecomo.com/it/bellagio-lago-di-comO/esperienze-e-servizi?cancatid=357#bookFrame

-Tour are not confirmed in case of bad weather

TARIFFS:

Photos by Mario Tacchi Promobellagio, Luca Leone and Wikipedia

Villa Melzi D’Eril and its gardens are located in the hilly and landscaped scenery of Bellagio between the two branches of the Lake Como. They are an harmonious example of english garden in Neoclassical style, considered as National monument.

The complex, which was built at the beginning of the 19th century by the will of the Duke of Lodi  Francesco Melzi D’Eril, includes besides the gardens, the homonymous Villa, the Chapel  and the Oranges’ Greenhouse. The visit of the gardens, whose symble is Camelia’s flower, is a unique experience which allows visitors to enjoy this quiet, colorful, scented location which has always inspired poets and artists, for example Stendhal.

The villa’s facade is simple and regular, composed by a double staircase and decorated with four lions in an ancient egyptian style. On both sides there are two marbles of the 16th century, representing Apollo and Melagro. In front of the villa, there’s a big fountain overlooking the lake.

The gardens, enhanced with sculptures, were projected by the same architets which had placed the Royal villa of Monza’s park. In the garden, there are old trees, Camelias’ hedges, Azaleas, Rhododendrons, rocks and monuments, old boats and  also storic, artistics relics.

A kiosk in Moorish style keeps the Villa’s last owner’s bust. In front of the kiosk there’s a monument, representing Dante and Beatrice, from which franz Liszt took inspiration for his Sonata to Dante.

Schedule and tariffs

Villa Melzi’s gardens are opened to the public every day from 10am to 7pm (last entrance at 6.30pm) from 26th March till end October 2022.

The gardens are closed in case of bad weather for the visitors’ safety. Tickets can be bought on the spot or online on the website and allow visitors to see the Museum, the Gardens and the Chapel. The Villa isn’t opened to the public. The access is possible for people with disabilities too, but bikes and scooters aren’t allowed.

Adults  8.00 euros
Children under 11 Free enter
Groups (at least 15 persons): 6.50 euros
Schools 5.00 euros

Season pass: 50.00 euro on info@giardinidivillamelzi.it

Guided tours are avaliable, book on :visite@giardinidivillamelzi.it

Photos by: Franco Papetti, Cristiano Ostinelli, Sonia Poncia, Giuseppe Mastrolmo.

This website is hosted Green - checked by thegreenwebfoundation.org